Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand


Clubs and Events

Press Releases
Other Documents

NZ Fan Awards 1989-2001
Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fan Database
Useful Links
Interesting Lists



Sir Julius Vogel Award Results - 2019

Following are the Winners of the Sir Julius Vogel Awards for 2019.

The list of Finalists for 2019 is available here.

The long List of nominees is available here.

Professional Award Nominees

Best Novel

Into the Sounds

Lee Murray

(Severed Press)

Best Youth Novel

Lutapolii – White Dragon of the South

Deryn Pittar

(Junction Publishing)

Best Novella / Novelette

The Martian Job

M. Darusha Wehm

(Choice of Games)
The Martian Job can be played online or on iOS, Android, or Steam. Links and the online game are at  

Best Short Story

“Girls Who do not Drown”

A.C. Buchanan

(Apex Magazine, December 2018)

Best Collected Work

Te Korero Ahi Kā

Edited by Grace Bridges, Lee Murray and Aaron Compton


Best Professional Artwork

Cover for The Baker Thief

Created by Laya Rose

(The Kraken Collective)

Best Professional Production/Publication

Black Archive #15

John Toon

(Obverse Books)

Best Dramatic Presentation

Wellington Paranormal

Directed by Jermaine Clement and Jackie van Beek

(New Zealand Documentary Board)
Available at TVNZ On Demand

Fan Award Nominees

Best Fan Artwork

The Thirteenth Doctor

Laya Rose

Best Fan Production/ Publication

Star Trek in the Park – The Trouble with Tribbles

(Enterprise Entertainment)

Special Award Nominees

Best New Talent

Kura Carpenter

The Kingfisher's Debt is Kura Carpenter's debut novel and very cleverly set in an Urban Fantasy world overlaying (or underlying, depending on your perspective) Dunedin, New Zealand. The writing is crisp, the plot excellently designed and executed. The work, I believe, clearly shows a writer who has taken the writing process seriously, from conception to drafting, to re-drafting, and producing a book that fits neatly into the Urban Fantasy genre while also having a strong Kiwi flavour.


Note: Nominees are presented in randomised order.

The Sir Julius Vogel Awards recognise excellence in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by New Zealanders.

The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are given for work by fans and professionals that was undertaken, completed or released in the year previous to voting. This year the works being voted on are from 2018. They are voted on by New Zealand fans and are presented at the National Science Fiction convention each year.

The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are administered by SFFANZ, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand Inc.

SFFANZ supports Science Fiction and Fantasy in New Zealand and can be contacted at

SFFANZ is a non-profit organisation and registered charity
designed to bring together fans of the fantastic in New Zealand

Contact us by email at: