Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand


Clubs and Events

Press Releases
Other Documents

NZ Fan Awards 1989-2001
Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fan Database
Useful Links
Interesting Lists



Sir Julius Vogel Award Nominations - 2013

This page contains an email voting form for the Sir Julius Vogel awards. If you are not going to be at Au Contraire and you wish to vote, copy and paste the form into an email and send it back to us.

Please note that you will need to send it promptly. We will need to receive your email vote on or before 10th July 2013. You can also give your votes to someone who is coming to the convention and they can physically give it to us

If you are not a member of Au Contraire or SFFANZ, you will need to renew your SFFANZ membership in order to vote for the the Sir Julius Vogel Awards. You can renew at Au Contraire, or go here.

By sending in your vote with this form you are confirming that you are a member of SFFANZ or Au Contraire. If you are not a member of either SFFANZ or Au Contraire when the votes are counted, your vote will be disallowed.

Your vote should be emailed to


Sir Julius Vogel Award Nominees

For full details on the nominees and downloadable voting forms, please see

Voting will also be taking place at Au Contraire.

Please see below the nominees for details on the preferential system of voting.

Write a number next to the nominees, in order of preference. 1 being a first choice, 2 a second choice and so on.

In order for your vote to be valid, we must receive it from an email address that we have on file for you, and you must be a member of Au Contraire or SFFANZ.


Best Novel
[  ] Dead Radiance by T. G. Ayer 
[  ] Growing Disenchantments by K. D. Berry
[  ] Empire State by Adam Christopher
[  ] Tropic of Skorpeo by Michael Morrissey
[  ] Queen of Iron Years by Lyn McConchie and Sharman Horwood
[  ] Don't be a Hero by Chris Strange
[  ] No Award


Best Youth Novel
[  ] The Prince of Soul and the Lighthouse by Frederik Brounéus
[  ] Red Rocks by Rachael King
[  ] Guardians of the Shimmer: DreamTime by Garth Lawless
[  ] Shadowfell by Juliet Marillier
[  ] The Enchanted Flute by James Norcliffe
[  ] Wizard's Guide to Wellington by A. J. Ponder
[  ] No Award


Best Novella / Novelette
[  ] Flight 404 by Simon Petrie
[  ] Fire, Escape by M. Darusha Wehm
[  ] The Hunt for Red Leicester by Simon Petrie
[  ] No Award


Best Short Story
[  ] Hope is the thing with feathers by Lee Murray
[  ] Dying for the Record by A. J. Ponder
[  ] Paint by Numbers by Dan Rabarts
[  ] Wearing the Star Cloak by Darian Smith
[  ] Better Phones by Grant Stone
[  ] No Award


Best Collected Work
[  ] Mansfield with Monsters by Matt and Debbie Cowens
[  ] I got his blood on me by Lawrence Patchett
[  ] Avenir Eclectia by Grace Bridges
[  ] Steam Pressed Shorts by Matt and Debbie Cowens
[  ] No Award


Best Professional Art Work
[  ] Les Petersen for the cover of Light Touch Paper, Stand Clear
[  ] Matt Cowens for the cover of Steam Pressed Shorts
[  ] No Award


Best Professional Production/Publication
[  ] Triumph: Unnecessarily Violent Tales of Science Adventure for the Simple and Unfortunate by Greg Broadmore
[  ] The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey: Chronicles – Art and Design by Daniel Falconer
[  ] The Comic Strip Companion: The Unofficial and Unauthorised Guide to Doctor Who in Comics: 1964-1979 by Paul Scoones
[  ] No Award


Best Dramatic Presentation
[  ] The Almighty Johnsons Series 2
[  ] The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
[  ] No Award


Best Fan Publication
[  ] Novazine
[  ] Phoenixine
[  ] unCONventional con book
[  ] No Award


Best Fan Production
[  ] AetherCon
[  ] Carry Forward
[  ] No Award


Best Fan Artwork
[  ] Gino Moretto - The Ever Dreaming Verdict of Plagues - pt 2
[  ] Gino Moretto - The Drabblecast Episode 240
[  ] Keith Smith - Contributions to Novazine
[  ] No Award


Best Fan Writing
[  ] June Young
[  ] Jacqui Smith
[  ] John Toon
[  ] Jo Toon
[  ] No Award


Best New Talent
[  ] Garth Lawless
[  ] Adam Christopher
[  ] Matt and Debbie Cowens
[  ] Sharon Hannaford
[  ] Jane Higgins
[  ] No Award


Services To Fandom
[  ] Annette Bergner
[  ] No Award


Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror
[  ] Stephen Minchin
[  ] No Award


The information collected on this ballot paper is used for the purpose of voting verification only and will not be passed on to any other parties. All voting papers are destroyed within one calendar month of the awards being announced.  You can contact us at for more information.


How the voting for the Sir Julius Vogel Awards works

Voting is based on a preferential voting system. This is the same system used for the Hugos and the Ditmars. When voting, you rank your choices in order of preference. When vote counting takes place, it's entirely possible that votes past your first choice will be significant in determining the final vote. For full details on how vote counting takes place, look in the folders containing the nominations.


There are four possible choices in the following example.


Best Furry Fan
[ 2  ] Queenie the Alien
[ 1  ] Marvin the Sheep
[ 3  ] Jemima the Frog
[    ] No Award

In this selection, I consider Marvin the Sheep to be my first choice, then Queenie, then Jemima.


No Award

The No Award option is treated like another nominee. In the above case I can ignore it, or fill it in as my fourth option.

In the following example, I consider only two of the options to be any good, so my third choice is No Award.


Best Furry Fan
[ 2  ] Queenie the Alien
[ 1  ] Marvin the Sheep
[     ] Jemima the Frog
[ 3  ] No Award

On the other hand, I might consider that only one is worth voting for, so I place my first vote accordingly, and my second option of No Award. However, if the vote counting happens in such a way that votes come down to a third choice, I want my other votes to count, so I also place votes in order for the other two options.


Best Furry Fan
[ 3  ] Queenie the Alien
[ 1  ] Marvin the Sheep
[ 4  ] Jemima the Frog
[ 2  ] No Award


Sometimes there is only one nominee in a category. When this happens, the option is given to Carry Forward the nominee until the next year of the Sir Julius Vogel Awards. In that case, the nominee is combined with any other nominations for the next year. If the nominee is still the only nominee in the category, then the option for Carry Forward is not given.


Best Furry Fan
[ 2  ] Queenie the Alien
[ 1  ] Carry Forward
[ 3  ] No Award

In conclusion, it is possible that any of your vote preferences may be significant when the votes are counted, so if possible, it is a good idea to fill in all the options in preferential order.

SFFANZ is a non-profit organisation and registered charity
designed to bring together fans of the fantastic in New Zealand

Contact us by email at: