Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand


Clubs and Events

Press Releases
Other Documents

NZ Fan Awards 1989-2001
Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fan Database
Useful Links
Interesting Lists



Press Release

New National Science Fiction and Fantasy awards presented

Monday 3rd June 2002 - At the national science fiction convention held in Wellington over Queen's Birthday weekend 2002, the first annual Sir Julius Vogel awards were presented.

These awards - for excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror within New Zealand - recognise both the professional and fan community, and aim to replace the previous national fan awards. The previous fan awards were the brainchild of a now-defunct national organisation, and in recent years had been organised on an ad hoc basis by each year's national convention.

The Sir Julius Vogel awards ("The Vogels", for short) will have standardised trophies for both amateur and professional work within the field of science fiction. They will be presented annually through the auspices of the Science Fiction and Fandom Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ), a new national umbrella organisation for fandom.

Most importantly, professionals are recognised for the first time with these awards. It is hoped that in years to come the title of "Vogel award winner" will be as important and recognised within New Zealand science fiction as "Ditmar award winner" is in Australia, or "Nebula award winner" is in the United Kingdom.

The name of the awards recognises the publication of one of the world's earliest science fiction novels, Anno Domini 2000, written by Sir Julius Vogel (1835-99), businessman, newspaper editor, and most notably New Zealand Premier from 1873 to 1876. His contribution to early science fiction and publishing in New Zealand merits his commemoration with these new awards.

A total of nine awards were presented at the 2002 national convention. The winners were as follows:

- Best Novel: "First Hunter" by Dale Elvy (HarperCollins 2001)
- Best Short Story: "The Good Earth" by Peter Friend
- Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form): "Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"
- Best New Talent: Dale Elvy
- Best Fan Writing: Alan Robson
- Best Fan Art: Nick Kim
- Best Fanzine: "Phoenixine"
- Services to Fandom: Norman Cates and the discussion group, for the organisation and establishment of SFFANZ
- Services to Science Fiction and Fantasy: Peter Jackson, Fran Walsh, and Philippa Boyens, for "Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring"

For further information on the Sir Julius Vogel awards and SFFANZ, please visit: or contact:


The Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) is a national organisation providing continuity for fans of the fantastic within New Zealand. It encourages the formation of clubs and the running of conventions by providing practical advice and help. SFFANZ also runs the annual Sir Julius Vogel Awards, which recognise excellence in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by New Zealanders.

SFFANZ can be contacted at:
SFFANZ, PO Box 13-574, Johnsonville, Wellington, New Zealand

SFFANZ is a non-profit organisation and registered charity
designed to bring together fans of the fantastic in New Zealand

Contact us by email at: