Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand


Clubs and Events

Press Releases
Other Documents

NZ Fan Awards 1989-2001
Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fan Database
Useful Links
Interesting Lists



Press Release

New Zealand National Science Fiction and Fantasy awards presented

Monday 12th April 2004 - At the national science fiction convention held in Rotorua over Easter weekend 2004, the first annual Sir Julius Vogel awards were presented.

These awards - for excellence in science fiction, fantasy and horror within New Zealand - recognise both the professional and fan communities, and aim to replace the previous national fan awards. The previous fan awards were the brainchild of a now-defunct national organisation, and in recent years had been organised on an ad hoc basis by each year's national convention.

The Sir Julius Vogel awards ("The Vogels", for short) have standardised awards for both amateur and professional work within the field of science fiction, fantasy or horror. They are presented annually through the auspices of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ), a national umbrella organisation for fandom.

A total of 6 awards were presented at the 2004 national convention. The winners were as follows:

- Best Novel: "Dark Shinto" by Dale Elvy (HarperCollins 2003)
- Best Short Story: (There was a tie in this category.)
"The Alchemist" by Peter Friend
"A Plea for Help" by Kevin G. Maclean
- Best New Talent: Glynne Maclean for "Roivan" Book 1 of the An'zarian Chronicle
- Best Fanzine: "Phoenixine"
- Services to Fandom: Laurie Fleming
- Special Award: Peter Jackson et al for the amazing accomplishment of the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy

Photo by Grant Preston
At the presentation ceremony: (L to R) Brian Howell (presenter), Kevin Maclean (Short Story winner), Maree Sole (presenter), Laurie Fleming (Fanzine and Services to Fandom winner), Norman Cates (presenter). The presenters are holding the trophies for the other winners.

For further information on the Sir Julius Vogel awards and SFFANZ, please visit: or contact:

The name of the awards recognises the publication of one of the world's earliest science fiction novels, Anno Domini 2000, written by Sir Julius Vogel (1835-99), businessman, newspaper editor, and most notably New Zealand Premier from 1873 to 1876. His contribution to early science fiction and publishing in New Zealand merits his commemoration with these awards.


The Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) is a national organisation providing continuity for fans of the fantastic within New Zealand. It encourages the formation of clubs and the running of conventions by providing practical advice and help. SFFANZ also runs the annual Sir Julius Vogel Awards, which recognise excellence in Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror by New Zealanders.

SFFANZ can be contacted at:
SFFANZ, PO Box 13-574, Johnsonville, Wellington, New Zealand

SFFANZ is a non-profit organisation and registered charity
designed to bring together fans of the fantastic in New Zealand

Contact us by email at: