Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand


Clubs and Events

Press Releases
Other Documents

NZ Fan Awards 1989-2001
Sir Julius Vogel Awards

Fan Database
Useful Links
Interesting Lists



The SFFANZ Committee 2015 - 2016

President: Norman Cates

Ever since I joined the Science Fiction Modellers Club Of New Zealand in the mid '80s and attended my first science fiction convention in 1989 I've been constitutionally incapable of not being involved in fandom. The sheer creativity of fans keeps me excited to see what comes next. I hope that I can contribute, and encourage other fans to let loose their creativity in all aspects of fandom.

I've been chairman of two successful science fiction conventions, ConQuest and ConQuest 2, and I've been involved with helping run a number more. It was my privilege to be closely involved with the creation of SFFANZ, and I was president of SFFANZ for 5 years.

Secretary And Publicity: Jan Butterworth

The Secretary takes care of stuff.  I am also part of the sub-committee that administers the Sir Julius Vogel awards, checking and verifying the details of nominations, and as the Auckland administrator for the Hatchette/SFFANZ book review scheme.

I first got interested in the Fantasy genre after reading The Chronicles of Narnia while in primary school. I was introduced to the Auckland based SF/F group Stella Nova in 2002 and found a group of interesting people who shared some of the same interests I had. They also didn’t think I was weird for liking to read about elves, vampires, werewolves, and magic.

I live in Auckland, where I share a house with two people and five cats.

jan - forgot to brush my hair

jan - why is my hair sunburned?

jan - this is my preferred picture


John Toon

Committee Members:

Lorain Clark

Lynelle Howell

Maree Pavletitch

David Thorne

Stephen Minchin

Marie Williams



SFFANZ is a non-profit organisation and registered charity
designed to bring together fans of the fantastic in New Zealand

Contact us by email at: